- Advertisement -

List Of Senior Gov’t Officials Who Have Resigned To Seek Political Seats

- Advertisement -

According to the Elections Act, all public officers seeking elective positions have to vacate office six months to the General Election, in this case February 9, 2022.

IEBC has since gazetted August 9 as the date for the General Election.

“A public officer who intends to contest an election under this Act shall resign from public office at least six months before the date of election,” Section 43 (5) of the Act.

As of Wednesday, February 9, 2022, dozens of public servants had resigned from their positions to seek elective posts in the upcoming general elections.

Among the senior government officials who have resigned include:-

Charles Keter

Keter, the former Cabinet Secretary for Devolution resigned on Tuesday and will vie for Kericho Gubernatorial Seat on DP William Ruto’s United Democratic Alliance (UDA) party.

Keter resigned as Kericho senator in 2015 to take up a cabinet post, following an appointment by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

He had been appointed Energy and Petroleum CS before he was appointed to the Energy docket. He served in the Ministry until last year when he was moved to Devolution.

Wavinya Ndeti

Until she resigned last week, Ndeti was the Transport Cabinet Administrative Secretary (CAS). She will be vying for the Machakos County governor seat in the August 9 General Election.

Ndeti served in the Ministry of Transport for a period of 2 years, after being appointed by President Uhuru Kenyatta in January 2020.

Chris Obure

Obure has been serving as the Transport and Infrastructure Chief Administrative Secretary. He resigned on the deadline day to vie for Kisii Governor’s seat.

John Munyes

Munyes resigned as Petroleum and Mining Cabinet Secretary to vie for the Turkana governorship. He previously served as the county’s Senator for five years from 2013.

Hassan Noor Hassan

Hassan was the Education Chief Administrative Secretary and is seeking Mandera Governor’s seat on an ODM ticket.

Ken Obura

He served as East Africa Chief Administrative Secretary before resigning on February 8, 2022, to run for the Kisumu governor’s seat in the August 9 general election.

Patrick ole Ntutu

Ole Ntutu was the Chief Administrative Secretary for Labour and is running for Narok Governorship in the August polls.

Gideon Mung’aro

The former Chief Administrative Secretary for Devolution resigned on February 8, 2022 to run for Kilifi Gubernatorial seat.

George Natembeya

Until his resignation early last month, Natembeya was the Rift Valley Regional Commissioner.

Natembeya, who has served as Rift Valley Commissioner for two-and-a-half years, is seeking to unseat Trans Nzoia Governor Patrick Khaemba in this year’s general election.

Read: Back-To-Back Resignations Signal Trouble At Business Daily

>>> Kenya Police FC: Football’s New Moneybags Splash the Cash

- Advertisement -
FRANCIS MULIhttp://www.businesstoday.co.ke
Editor and writer, Francis Muli has a passion for human interest stories. He holds a BSc in Communication and Journalism from Moi University and has worked for various organisations including Kenya Television Service. Email:[email protected]
- Advertisement -
Must Read
- Advertisement -
Related News
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here