HomeNEWSNick Mwendwa, FKF Kicked Out as Govt Forms Caretaker Committee

Nick Mwendwa, FKF Kicked Out as Govt Forms Caretaker Committee

Sports Cabinet Secretary Amina Mohammed on Thursday, November 11 appointed a caretaker committee to manage Kenyan football affairs for a period of six months.

The Caretaker Committee will be chaired by retired Justice Aaron Ringera. Linda Ogutu will serve as Head of Secretariat. Others on the committee include Kenyan football legends Bobby Ogolla and J.J Masiga.

It will be charged with running the affairs of Football Kenya Federation (FKF) and ensuring compliance with the Sports Act (2013). The Caretaker Committee is also tasked with coordinating FKF elections and handing over to new Federation officials after a successful election.

Formation of the committee was among recommendations contained in an inspection report by the Registrar of Sports who had appointed a team to probe the Football Kenya Federation (FKF). The inspection was ordered by the Cabinet Secretary on October 14 amid claims of fraud, embezzlement and mismanagement at FKF which is led by Nick Mwendwa.

Disclosing the preliminary findings of the report, Amina slammed FKF for failing to satisfy various requirements of the Sports Act.

“Over the past few years, the Football Kenya Federation has faced several governance issues that have been of great concern to the Ministry. First, the Football Kenya Federation has failed to account for all the monies allocated to it by the Government. All beneficiaries of the Fund are as a matter of course trained on how to apply, utilize and account for the funds. The beneficiaries are also aware that they are required to fully disclose any financial assistance received from other sponsors. Football Kenya Federation has fallen short of this requirement,” she noted.

The recommendations of the inspection committee were:

  1. DCI, NIS and EACC carry out further investigation to establish the extent to which the misappropriation of funds in FKF may have occurred with a view of prosecuting those who may be found culpable.
    The current officials of FKF are removed from office to pave way for further investigations pending conclusion.
  2. A Caretaker Committee is appointed to manage the affairs of FKF for a period not exceeding 6 months. This has been successful in other jurisdictions in recent years, the likes of Cameroon, Egypt, Ghana and Chad amongst others.
    A special audit of the books of accounts of FKF be carried out and subsequent frequent future audits.
  3. The government of Kenya should invoke Article 17 and 58 of the FIFA Code of Ethics (2020 edition) by informing FIFA Secretariat
  4. Investigation Chamber on the outcome of the Inspection.
  5. No bank account should be opened by FKF henceforth unless authorized by the Principal Secretary within the six-month period the caretaker committee will be in place.
  6. The Ministry of Sports culture and Heritage and the Sports, Arts and Social Development Fund not to release any funds to FKF unless and until the previous funds are fully accounted for.
  7. The Government to continue its public sensitization program through the Registrar’s office to enable members of the public, sports organizations, professional sports bodies, persons and officials to be well versed with Sports Act and all the other relevant laws.

The formation of the committee could set Kenya on a collision path with world football governing body FIFA who, historically, have opposed alleged interference by government in the running of the sport. The CS cited examples of Caretaker committees working in Ghana and Egypt among other countries.

Caretaker Committee Members

  1. Justice (Rtd.) Aaron Ringera
  2. General (Rtd.) Moses Oyugi
  3. Fatma Adan (Hodi)
  4. Philip Musyimi Mue
  5. Anthony L. Isayi
  6. Elisha Chepchieng Kiplagat
  7. Hassan Mahmoud Haji
  8. Fredrick Tureisa Lekesike
  9. Mwangi Muthee
  10. Neddy Atieno Okoth
  11. Ali Amour
  12. Titus Kasuve
  13. Richard Omwela
  14. Bobby Ogola
  15. J.J. Masiga

Secretariat to the Caretaker Committee

  1. Linda Ogutu – Head of Secretariat
  2. Lorine Nerea Shitubi – Joint Secretary
  3. Caesar Handa
  4. Habo Mwachiro
  5. Edward Rombo
  6. Hiba Hussein
  7. Gabriel Warigi
  8. Dr. Walter Ongeti
  9. Rashid Khamisi Ali Shedu
  10. Hon. Racheal Kamweru
  11. Robin Toskin

latest articles

explore more


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here