Whatsapp has unveiled a new ‘disappearing messages’ feature, to be rolled out to all users in November.
Users will have the option of enabling the option in conversations with their contacts, causing messages to be automatically deleted after seven days.
The feature will only apply to new messages sent after the option is turned on, meaning old chats will remain accessible.
Group administrators will also be able to enable the feature for group chats. Anyone will be able to enable it for individual chats.
With the feature enabled, videos, photos and other multi-media will also be deleted after seven days.
It will still be possible to screenshot chats or simply copy messages before they are deleted.
Once fully rolled out, the option will be available in the contact section for each of your contacts.
According to a Whatsapp representative, the seven-day period is meant to ensure practicality.
“We’re starting with 7 days because we think it offers peace of mind that conversations aren’t permanent, while remaining practical so you don’t forget what you were chatting about.
“The shopping list or store address you received a few days ago will be there while you need it, and then disappear after you don’t,” noted the spokesperson.