- Advertisement -

After IEBC clearance, now Raila Odinga sets eyes on State House

- Advertisement -

The Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Sunday May 28th cleared four out of the anticipated 10 presidential candidates in the 8th August general election.

The four are National Super Alliance (NASA) Presidential nominee Raila Odinga, Dr Ekuru Aukot of Third Alliance Kenya Party, Joseph Nyaga (Independent) alongside Mohammed Abduba Dida of Alliance for Real Change. Also on the list of candidates who were slated to present their papers to the electoral agency yesterday is Japheth Kavinga Kaluyu who is running as an independent candidate.

Related: End of Kenyatta and Odinga family rivalry

Aukot was the first to be cleared by the electoral agency, followed by NASA flag-bearer Mr Odinga, Mohammed Abduba Dida of Alliance for Real Change and Joseph Nyaga (independent).

Earlier in the day, IEBC officials led by Chairperson Wafula Chebukati rejected some of Dida’s papers, arguing that his degree certificate and that of his running mate Mr Titus Kasilu had not been certified.

Chebukati also said Mr Dida’s declaration form had not been signed and stamped by a Commissioner of Oaths as required by law. Dida was, however, cleared to vie for the presidency.

READ: Nairobi men using a new drug to get women sexually active

Speaking on the sidelines of the exercise, held at Kenyatta International Convention Centre (KICC), the former Prime Minister said he was sure of clinching victory in the August elections, adding that NASA would accept defeat if it lost fairly.

He warned that hate speech should not be used to muzzle candidates from holding peaceful campaigns. “Our campaigns will be peaceful and we ask IEBC to hold a fair, credible and free election,” said Mr Odinga.

Chebukati asked Odinga and his running mate Kalonzo Musyoka to hold peaceful campaigns, and to abide by the code of conduct during their campaigns.

Mr Odinga was accompanied by the other four NASA principals among them Kalonzo Musyoka (Wiper), Musalia Mudavadi (Amani National Congress), Moses Wetangula (Ford-Kenya) and Chama Cha Mashinani party leader Isaac Ruto.

SEE ALSO: How dirty politicians and political parties clean their images 

Odinga said his party has been denied victory twice – during the 2007 and 2013 General elections.

NASA Deputy and Wiper party leader Kalonzo Musyoka expressed confidence that the coalition will win, attributing the anticipated success to proper democratic elections. He asked the government to bolster the security of NASA flag-bearer.

After clearance by IEBC, the NASA brigade held a rally at Jacaranda grounds in Eastlands, Nairobi.

IEBC has scheduled to clear all the ten presidential candidates between by end of today, including President Uhuru Kenyatta.


- Advertisement -
BT Correspondent
BT Correspondenthttp://www.businesstoday.co.ke
editor [at] businesstoday.co.ke
- Advertisement -
Must Read
- Advertisement -
Related News
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here