- Advertisement -

Separating real VIPs from pretenders to the throne

- Advertisement -

For years, personalities riding in GK and diplomatic plated vehicles have driven roughshod on Kenyan roads and highways without any care in the world.

Since 2013, the list has expanded to include, among others, MPs, Senators and Governors, in addition to those who could afford chase cars and security guards that force other motorists off the road to gain them quick passage.

But going by the list issued by Inspector General of Police Hilary Mutyambai, it is apparent that many of them have all but been pretenders to the VIP status.

The IG on Wednesday unveiled various categories of VIPs to be accorded entitlement and privileges while travelling by road.

On Thursday, he revised the directive to include Chief Justice David Maraga, Finance Cabinet Secretary Henry Rotich, Attorney General Paul Kihara, Finance Principal Secretary Kamau Thugge, Defence PS Torome Saitoti, Foreign Affairs PS Macharia Kamau and Senate Majority Leader Kipchumba Murkomen.

However, Deputy Chief Justice Philemona Mwilu has not been included.

Those in Category 1 are President Uhuru Kenyatta, Deputy President William Ruto, First Lady Margaret Kenyatta, the Cabinet Secretaries for Defence (Raychelle Omamo), Interior and Coordination of National Government (Fred Matiang’i), Rotich and Foreign Affairs (Monica Juma), Maraga, Kihara and the Interior Principal Secretary (Karanja Kibicho).

Those in Category 2 are the Chief of Defence Forces; Service Commanders of Defence Forces  Lt Gen Walter Raria (Kenya Army), Maj Gen Francis Ogolla (Kenya Air Force) and Maj Gen Levi Mghalu (Kenya Navy); Mutyambai, the Deputy Inspector General – Kenya Police Service Edward Mbugua and the Deputy Inspector General – Administration Police Service Noor Gabow.

From the above, it is clear that many of those who have been allowed to ride priority cars are those who sit in the National Security Council or the National Security Advisory Committee.

Category 3 has the Speaker of the National Assembly Justin Muturi, the Speaker of the Senate Ken Marende and Majority Leader Aden Duale (National Assembly) and Murkomen.

Retired Presidents Daniel Moi and Mwai Kibaki and Retired Prime Minister Raila Odinga fall in Category 4 while Ambulances and Fire Brigade are in Category 5.

Mutyambai directed that all other vehicles that have been placed in Category 6 will required authority of officers in charge of traffic in respective regions (Traffic 1) on special cases.

“All other vehicles, including Government vehicles (GK) are expected to follow the normal traffic flow. Any Government vehicle found violating traffic regulations, especially those overlapping, the drivers shall be arrested and charged in accordance to the law,” the IG directed.

Read: Omtatah bid to block KRA succession front runner flops

According to Mutyambai, the directive follows public outcry over persistent inconvenience caused to other motorists by VIP and GK vehicles on public roads and highways.

- Advertisement -
BT Reporter
BT Reporterhttp://www.businesstoday.co.ke
editor [at] businesstoday.co.ke
- Advertisement -
Must Read
- Advertisement -
Related News
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here