- Advertisement -

Betty Kyalo beats Jeff Koinange in social media contest

- Advertisement -

KTN news anchor Betty Kyalo is the most popular media personality in Kenya today. Betty, who anchors Friday Briefing prime time bulletin on KTN, beat her former colleague Jeff Koinange, who is also a popular TV host and three others, to take the Media Personality Award at this year’s OLX Social Media Awards held last week.

The Media Personality Award was closely watched as it pitied some of the most recognized media practitioners in Kenya and, not surprisingly, had all nominees from broadcast media. The other contestants in the media personality category included Adelle Onyango of Kiss FM, Radio Africa Group’s Carol Radull and Amina Abdi of K24.

Jeff Koinange performed poorly emerging last among the five shortlisted media personalities for the award. Many TV viewers had predicted a Jeff sweep but Betty Kyalo’s efforts to lobby her fans to vote her appears to have worked.

The other competitive category was the Entertainment Personality Award, which was scooped by comedian Eric Omondi, followed by Akothee, Anto Neosoul, Jalang’o and Nick Mutuma.

SEE ALSO: Standard newspaper back in town but not everyone is happy

It was not clearly Jeff Koinange’s time as even his JKL show came third in the TV show award. The Trend, then hosted by Larry Madowo on NTV, won this category, followed by Citizen TV’s 10 Over 10, Cross Over101 of NTV, Citizen’s JKL Show and Kubamba Show.


Corporate Executive Personality Award

Maggie Ireri – Winner
Capt. Ronald Karauri
Dorothy Ooko
Joe otin
Mohammed Hersi

Media Personality Award

Betty Kyallo – Winner
Adelle Onyango
Amina Abdi
Carol Radull
Jeff Koinange

Jeff Koinange: Did not perform well.

Sports Personality Award

Victor Wanyama – Winner
Biko Adema
David Rudisha
Eliud Kipchoge
Jane Wacu

Fashion Personality Award

Joy kendi – Winner
Diana Opoti
Lucia Musau
Silvia Njoki

Entertainment Personality Award

Eric Omondi – Winner
Anto Neosoul
Nick Mutuma

Entrepreneur Award

Michelle Nkatha Ntalami – Winner
Erick Kinoti
Roy Wachira
Sam Gichuru
Wandia Gichuru

Humanitarian Award

Ndungu Nyoro – Winner
Dr. Josephine kulea
Philip Ogola
Raphael Obonyo
Wanja kabuki

Financial Services Award

Equity bank Kenya – Winner
CiC Insurance
Co-Op Bank Kenya
KCB Group

Retail Award

Jumia Kenya – Winner
Carrefour Kenya
Naivas Supermarket
Tuskys Supermarkets

Consumer Product Award

Dairyland Products – Winner
Coca Cola
Marini Naturals

Technology Award

Samsung Mobile – Winner
Airtel Kenya
Infinix Mobile
Orange Kenya
TECNO Mobile

Tourism Award

Bonfire Adventures – Winner
Expedition Maasai Safaris
Lewa Wildlife Conservancy
Ol Pejeta Conservancy
Serena Hotels

Manufacturing Award

Unga wa dola – Winner
Basco Paints
Bidco Africa Ltd
Mabati Rolling Mills
Menengai Oil Refineries

Learning Institution Award

University of Nairobi – Winner
ADMI Africa
Kenyatta university
Mount Kenya University
Zetech university

NEXT READ: Reporter details his ordeal at hands of military officers

State Corporation Award

Huduma Kenya – Winner
Department of Immigration services
HELB Kenya
Kenya Airports Authority
Kenya Revenue Authority

TV Show Award

The Trend – Winner
10 Over 10
JKL Show
Kubamba Show

Radio Show Award

Classic 105 FM: #MainaandKing’ang’i – Winner
Capital FM: Hits not homework
Ghetto Radio -Goteana
Homeboyz: Class124
Radio Jambo: Mbusii na lion teketeke

Facebook Personality Award

Propesa – Winner
Henry De sagu
Jaymo ule msee
Rib Krakaz
Wahome Thuku

Twitter Personality Award

Atanasi – Winner
Brian Mbunde
Boniface Gitau: @IGitz
Gatwiri: @RookieKe

New Blogger Award

www.kenyanmusik.co.ke – Winner

Instagram Personality Award

Joe W Muchiri – Winner
Helena Talaso
Kaluhi’s Kitchen
Seth Gor

YouTube Channel Award

Farhana Oberson – Winner
Caroline Mutoko
Cheka Tu TV
Matwana Matatu Culture
Shaq the yungin


- Advertisement -
BT Reporter
BT Reporterhttp://www.businesstoday.co.ke
editor [at] businesstoday.co.ke
- Advertisement -
Must Read
- Advertisement -
Related News
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here