Some of the journalists who have won the Mzalendo Award. President Uhuru Kenyatta created the new category to award Kenyans for their contribution to the COVID-19 Fight.

President Uhuru Kenyatta on Monday created a new presidential honours category- The Mzalendo Category– to honour civilian Kenyans for playing key roles in helping the country during the COVID-19 Period in a list that features an assortment of professionals ranging from doctors, businessmen and journalists.

In a Special Gazette Notice, President Uhuru Kenyatta conferred Equity Group CEO James Mwangi, COVID-19 Fund Chairperson Jane Karuku, and Ministry of Health Director Dr. Patrick Amoth with the new award for rising to the occasion when they were needed most by their country.

The president also awarded Major General Ayub Matiiri (Head of Operation Kinga Corona) and Dr. Thuranira Kaugiria Secretary (Kenya Medical Practitioners and Dentists Union (KMPDU) Nairobi Branch.

“In recognition of their distinguished and outstanding service to the nation in helping to steer our country through the Coronavirus Pandemic. I President Uhuru Kenyatta President and Commander In Chief of the Kenya Defence Forces,confer National Honours to the following persons,”said President Kenyatta.

The list also featured a huge number of mainstream journalists working for different media houses while Royalmedia Services (RMS) Managing Director Wachira Waruru also made the cut.

Ronald Njogu (Managing Editor-Royalmedia Radio), Dr. Mercy Korir (Health Reporter -KTN News), Asha Mwilu (Ex-Special Projects Editor-Citizen TV) and Enock Sikolia (Reporter- Citizen TV).

Chemutai Goin (Reporter- Citizen TV), Vincent Ateya (Presenter- Citizen Radio), Nasibo Kabale (Reporter- Daily Nation) and Nelson Aruya (Camera operator- Citizen TV) also made the cut.

Below is the full list;

See Also>>> Uhuru Pledges Sh2Billion to Revive Tourism Sector


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here