- Advertisement -

Raila beats a U-turn on Uhuru’s IEBC dialogue proposal

- Advertisement -

CORD leader Raila Odinga has reportedly rejected President Uhuru Kenyatta’s proposal to form a joint select committee of parliament to spearhead the IEBC talks. This is just after President Uhuru led the Jubilee party members on Thursday morning and unveiled an eleven -member team committee expected to discuss the IEBC issue.

The team was to be  led by Meru County senator Kiraitu Murungi. Other members included: Moses Kuria – MP Gatundu South Senator Kiraitu Murungi – Meru, Senator Kipchumba Murkomen – Elgeyo Marakwet Senator Beatrice Elachi – Nominated, Senator Fatuma Dullo – Nominated.

ALSO SEE >> Journalists arming themselves with guns

Naomi Shaban – MP Taita Taveta, Cecily Mbarire – MP Runyenjes, Soipan Tuya – Narok Women Representative, Mohammed Mahmoud – MP Mandera West, Ben Washiali – MP Mumias East, Jimmy Angwenyi – MP Kitutu Chache North were also nominated by the ruling coalition.

CORD leader Raila Odinga however says that the President gesture is ‘welcome but it does not cater for their demands for an out-of-parliament dialogue process.’

On Wednesday President Uhuru said that the Government would form a special committee of parliament to deal with the issue. The president said that the committee will strictly and exclusively handle the IEBC matter only. “The mandate of the committee will be strictly and exclusively limited to the matter of IEBC,” said President on Wednesday.

ALSO SEE >> Uhuru yields to Cord press on IEBC, forms committee

- Advertisement -
ZAINABU NURUhttp://www.businesstoday.co.ke
Zainabu Nuru is a communications student at Laikipia University.
- Advertisement -
Must Read
- Advertisement -
Related News
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here