- Advertisement -

Second Lockdown and What It Means For Every Kenyan

- Advertisement -

Covid-19 Measures: President Uhuru Kenyatta today declared a partial lockdown on the five counties of Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru, describing them as disease-infested areas as he took fresh bold moves to counter the rising third wave of Covid-19 infections.

In his second Covid-19 update this year, President Kenyatta noted that Nairobi remained a hotspot, with 70% of current infections recorded in these five adjacent counties. He announced several measures affecting the five areas, among them revised curfew hours of 8pm-4am, with the rest of the country maintaining the 10pm-4am.

The President announced cessation of all movement into and out of these areas, whether by road, rail or air, effective midnight. He further suspended bar operations and the sale of alcohol in restaurants and eateries in Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru.

Also suspended until further notice were all-in person gatherings, including at places of worship, and all ongoing in-person learning at all educational institutions including universities and TVETs. The exception are candidates writing national secondary school exams.

See Also >> Why More Women Are Sliding Deeper Into Poverty

New Covid-19 measures

  1. Cessation of movement by road, rail and air in and out of the counties of Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru till further notice.
  2. No in-person meetings of any kind in the counties of Nairobi, Machakos, Kajiado, Kiambu and Nakuru till further notice.
  3. Parliament asked to go on recess as well as the regional Houses mentioned above.
  1. Curfew to begin at 8pm and end at 4am in the counties of Nairobi, Nakuru, Machakos, Kiambu and Kajiado. Other counties curfew will go on as currently is, being from 10pm to 4am.
  1. Government vacates all curfew passes until a review by the Ministry of Interior is done.
  1. In-person worship in Nairobi, Nakuru, Machakos, Kiambu, and Kajiado suspended till further notice. Other counties to be allowed in person religious engagements but to adhere to the one third rule of capacity of religious institutions.
  1. Bars are suspended from operating in Nairobi, Nakuru, Machakos, Kiambu and Kajiado. Restaurants and eateries in the said counties shall provide takeaway services only and are banned from selling alcohol.
  1. Schools, including universities closed. No further in-person learning.
  1. All employees of private and government bodies are directed to have employees working from home until further notice, except those where services cannot be provided remotely.
  1. All hospitals asked to limit number of visitors to patients to just one per patient.
  1. All permitted gatherings to have not more than 50 people. Funerals to be conducted within 72 hours of confirmation of death with just a total of 50 people. Marriage other similar events to have a total of 30 people.
  1. Those above 58 years of age to be vaccinated in first phase.
- Advertisement -
BT Correspondent
BT Correspondenthttp://www.businesstoday.co.ke
editor [at] businesstoday.co.ke
- Advertisement -
Must Read
- Advertisement -
Related News
- Advertisement -


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here